Power Trio “Courage My Love” by Caitlin Seddon

Article by Caitlin / Edit and Arranged by Pete Rock

Courage My Love is a pop-punk, alternative metal band. That is made up of three members, which consists of twin sisters Mercedes Arn-Horn and Phoenix Arn-Horn with their friend Brandon Lockwood, formed in 2009 in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada.

Courage My Love was discovered due to a battle of the bands contest held Ontario, early 2010. This led to the band being signed by Warner Music Canada.

In 2012 their popularity grew on YouTube, leading to over 3 million views. Later that year they appeared in Alternative Press Magazine’s Top 100 Bands to Know.

Their experiences in life is what inspires their music, explains Brandon Lockwood. “You meet all these new people, and you learn about yourselves. We’ve all grown a lot. That was the inspiration for Becoming,” said Lockwood.

Courage My Love does an excellent job connecting with their fans through podcast, videos and twitter. Phoenix Arn-Horn explains how they want to show their fans who they truly are as people. “You don’t need to play by the book to be successful. Being a girl isn’t that big of a deal in music anymore. You don’t need to have a certain look. Break the rules, stand apart,” said Phoenix.

Courage My Love has four upcoming performances in Canada and recently announced that they will be performing on the 2014 Vans Warped Tour. “We’re playing all of Vans Warped Tour this summer! Really stoked to hit the stage again and make some new friends,” said Mercedes Arn-Horn.

Band is made up of:

Mercedes Arn-Horn: vocals, guitar

Phoenix Arn-Horn: drums, vocals

Brandon Lockwood: bass


Share Button